History

The history of Bolnisi is the history of Suebian emigrants leaving their home in spring of 1817 to establish new settlements in the Caucasus.

imagesOne of them was Katharinenfeld,  named after Queen Catherine of Württemberg, a sister of Tsar Alexander I. Economic hardship and religious isolation forced the so called Suebian Pietist to take this step. After the early years with epidemics, robberies and serious economic problems Katharinenfeld developed mid 19th Century to a flourishing community with five football teams, a German newspaper, an elementary school, a Lutheran church, a hunting club and a theater group. In 1921 the city windexas renamed by the communists in Luxembourg. In1941 Stalin made all Germans, who were not married with Georgians, to be deported to Siberia and Kazakhstan, a total of 6,000 people. Since 1944, the city is called Bolnisi. Today only a few residents of German origin are living in Bolnisi; but in some areas one can still recognize German architecture.

MuseumBolnisi_IMG_9861_web
The legacy of the German founders is maintained in a small museum and in the small Lutheran congregation, which has been reinstalled after the end of the Soviet Union. Today 85% of the approximately 17.000 inhabitants are ethnic Georgians, the rest are mostly of Azerbaijani descent. A bilingual commemorative p
laque reminds the fate of the German population in the city center.

The city is living from agriculture, the cultivation of grapes and vegetables. Near Bolnisi gold is mined. It is also the administrative center of the surrounding area.

Bolnisi houses one of the oldest Christian churches of Georgia, Sioni Church. It dates back to the 5th century. One can find pagan elements in its walls.

In Bolnisi there once were three mills. On the foundations of earlier Kötzle Mill the new hotel and restaurant “German Mill Bolnisi “was built in the years 2010 – 2013 in a traditional stone and wood construction the. There are no usable sources about the history of Kötzle mill. The building is listed only in a plot plan of the old Katharinenfeld.

Geschichte

Die Geschichte von Bolnisi ist die Geschichte von schwäbischen Auswanderern, die ab dem Frühjahr 1817 ihre Heimat verließen, um im Kaukasus neue Siedlungen zu gründen.

images Eine davon war Katharinenfeld, benannt nach der württembergischen Königin Katharina, einer   Schwester von Zar Alexander I. Wirtschaftliche Not und religiöse Isolation zwangen die pietistischen Schwaben zu diesem Schritt. Nach den Anfangsjahren mit Epidemien, Überfällen und großen wirtschaftlichen Problemen entwickelte sich Katharinenfeld Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts zu einem blühenden Gemeinwesen mit fünf Fußballmannschaften, einer deutschen Zeitung, einer Grundschule, einer lutherischen Kirche, einem Jägerverein und einer Theatergruppe. 1921 wurde die Stadt von den Kommunisten in Luxemburg umbenannt. 1941 ließ Stalin alle Deutsche, die nicht mit Georgieindexrn verheiratet waren, nach Sibiren und Kasachstan deportieren, insgesamt 6.000 Menschen. Seit 1944 heißt die Stadt Bolnisi.  Heute sind  nur noch wenige deutschstämmige Bewohner in Bolnisi, das in einigen Bereichen noch immer eine deutsche Architektur erkennen lässt.

MuseumBolnisi_IMG_9861_web

Das Erbe der deutschen Gründer wird in einem kleinen Museum gepflegt und in der kleinen evangelisch-lutherischen Gemeinde, die sich nach dem Ende der Sowjetunion wieder gefunden hat. Heute sind 85 % der rund 17.000 Einwohner ethnisch Georgier, der Rest meist aserbaidschanischer Abstammung. An das Schicksal der deutschen Einwohner erinnert im Zentrum der Stadt eine zweisprachige Gedenktafel.

Die Stadt lebt hauptsächlich von der Landwirtschaft, dem Anbau von Wein und Gemüse. In der Nähe von Bolnisi wird Gold abgebaut. Sie ist außerdem Verwaltungszentrum für die Umgebung.

Bolnisi beherbergt eine der ältesten christlichen Kirchen Georgiens, die Sioni-Kirche. Sie stammt aus dem 5. Jahrhundert. In ihrem Mauerwerk sind heidnische Elemente erkennbar.

Hotel Deutsche Muehle Bolnissi |Hotel German Mill Bolnisi|

In Bolnisi gab es drei Mühlen. Auf den Grundmauern der früheren Kötzle-Mühle wurde in den Jahren 2010 – 2013 in traditioneller Stein- und Holzbauweise das neue Hotel und Restaurant Deutsche Mühle Bolnisi erbaut. Über die Geschichte der Kötzle-Mühle gibt es derzeit keine verwertbaren Quellen. Das Gebäude ist lediglich in einem Grundstückplan des alten Katharinenfeld aufgeführt.